• New Commission energy directorate

    The Commission president José Manuel Barroso has announced the formation of a new Commission energy directorate.

    Until now, energy has had its own commissioner (Andris Piebalgs from Latvia) but energy has been run from the DG Tren directorate for energy and transport. There is speculation that the EU member states may create a new commissioner for energy and climate change after June’s European elections.